Because we were bored,

Steph and I decided to make creamy tomato basil soup and garlic bread grilled cheese.
I kindasorta followed this recipe from Food For My Family for the soup… I really only used it as a guide since I didn’t have the exact amounts of the ingredients. Steph didn’t use a recipe at all and her grilled cheese came out delicious :)

Main ingredients: Tomatoes, Onions, Basil.

I threw all of it into a big pot with some olive oil, let it get juicy for a couple minutes, and added garlic and a can of crushed tomatoes.

It smelled like fresh bruschetta!

Meanwhile, Steph’s grilled cheese was cooking..

Steph used Italian bread, american cheese, scallions, garlic, and butter for these sandwiches. I didn’t really get a lot of pictures of her preparing them because I was busy attending to my soup. Sorry Steph! <3

They look so angelic.

 

My final step was to put the soup in the blender and puree with heavy cream and freshly grated Locatelli parmesan until it was a nice consistency. Now that I think about it, I should’ve blended it for a little bit longer to further liquefy the whole thing (it’s a little chunky as you can see in the picture) but it’s not a big deal. Everything was so good. Following tradition, we dipped our sandwiches into the soup. Afterwards we were so full that all we could do was sit on the couch and watch Ghost Ship for an hour. Hahahha :D

All in all, it was super easy to make and perfect for cold weather. Definitely try it yourself!

About Ariele Monzo

I'm little.

Posted on January 10, 2011, in Lunch/Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

